Rampf, Reiber claim SSC awards; four named All-SSC

Rampf, Reiber claim SSC awards; four named All-SSC

SAINT LEO, Fla. – Saint Leo junior Colett Rampf claimed her third Sunshine State Conference Runner of the Year award while Kent Reiber was honored as the conference Coach of the Year, when the SSC announced its women's cross country awards for 2016 on Tuesday.

Four Saint Leo women's cross country runners were named to the All-Sunshine State Conference team: Rampf, junior Lauren Csubak, sophomore Alyssa Bayliff, and sophomore Laura Tobin.

Rampf, who also earned All-SSC honors in 2014 and 2015, becomes just the eighth athlete in the history of the Sunshine State Conference to become a three-time Player, Runner, or Swimmer of the Year. No athlete has won four times.

Rampf set a new Saint Leo 5K record earlier this season when she posted a time of 17:32.04 at the University of Florida Mountain Dew Invitational; the following week, she set a Saint Leo 6K record with a time of 20:23 in the Lehigh University Paul Short Run 6K.

Rampf's performance at the Paul Short Run earned her U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) National Athlete of the Week honors, becoming the second SSC runner and the first SSC woman to earn the accolade in cross country. She earned SSC Runner of the Week honors four times during the 2016 season, bringing her career tally to 12.

"For Colett to earn Runner of the Year for the third consecutive year is a testament to her passion and commitment to excellence. She continues to amaze me, and I know an even brighter future is ahead of us," said Reiber.

Bayliff repeats as an All-SSC selection after earning all-conference honors in 2015. Her top performance of the season was a time of 18:29.74 and a second-place finish in the UF Mountain Dew Invitational 5K, and a 21:05.64 and second-place finish in the SSC Championship 6K.

Tobin, a first time All-SSC selection, clocked her best 5K time of the season at the UF Mountain Dew Invitational, when she finished 12th overall with a time of 18:58.15. She was fifth overall at the SSC Championship, with a season-best 6K time of 21:26.28.

Csubak, who also makes her debut on the All-SSC team, charted a time of 22:03.22 in the SSC Championship, her fastest 6K time of the season and good enough for an eighth-place finish. She recorded a season-best 5K time of 19:33.66 at the UF Mountain Dew Invitational, and finished 23rd in the field.

"Each one of these ladies have sacrificed so much over this season, and to have them earn this achievement makes me extremely proud," said Reiber. "Their work ethic and dedication to being an excellent student-athlete is what carries them to new heights. For Colett, Laura, and Alyssa they continue to push the envelope in regards to training and intensity, which helps drive the rest of our girls to be successful. For Lauren this is her first All-SSC award, and not many can say they have worked as hard as she has. She has proven that hard work truly pays off!"


Reiber, the Lions' second-year head coach, picks up SSC Women's Cross Country Coach of the Year honors for the first time in his career. The coach of the year award is the second of his career, after receiving SSC Men's Cross Country Coach of the Year honors in 2015.

Saint Leo women's cross country will compete in the 2016 NCAA Division II Cross Country South Region Championship, which will be held this Saturday, Nov. 5, at The Abbey Course at Saint Leo University. The women's 6K South Region championship race will be held at 9:45 a.m., after the men's 10K championship at 8:30 a.m.

For the latest news, updates, and information on the Saint Leo men's and women's cross country teams, be sure to visit SaintLeoLions.com.  Fans can also stay up-to-date on the latest Lions news by following Saint Leo Athletics on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and YouTube.


Runner of the Year: Colett Rampf, Saint Leo
Freshman of the Year: Allison Wright, Florida Southern
Coach of the Year: Kent Reiber, Saint Leo


2016 All-SSC Women's Cross Country
Colett Rampf, Saint Leo, Jr., Premnitz, Germany
Alyssa Bayliff, Saint Leo, So., Ormond Beach, Fla.
Claudia Cancello, Tampa, Sr., New Port Richey, Fla.
Laura Tobin, Saint Leo, So., Clonmel, Ireland
Allison Wright, Florida Southern, Fr., Sarasota, Fla.
Lauren Csubak, Saint Leo, Jr., Parrish, Fla.
Thea Ramsey, Tampa, So., Colorado Springs, Colo.


Three-time SSC Player, Runner, or Swimmer of the Year winners
(No athlete has won four times)

Colett Rampf, Saint Leo, WXC (14-16)
Berkley Whaley, Tampa, WVB (13-15)
Jeb Halfacre, Florida Southern, MSWIM (11-13)
Allison Macsas, Tampa, WXC (03-05)
Emelie Karlsson, Barry, WSOC (02-03, 05)
Jeff Klauk, Florida Southern, MGOLF (98-00)
Cindy Yuan, Barry, WVB (96-98)
Richard Sharpe, Florida Tech, MSOC (91-93)