Five Lions Earn All-SSC Selections

Five Lions Earn All-SSC Selections

WINTER PARK, Fla. – Five members of the Saint Leo volleyball team were selected to the All-Sunshine State Conference teams, it was announced Tuesday afternoon from the conference office in Winter Park, Fla. 

Tampa's Berkley Whaley was selected Player of the Year and Newcomer of the Year, while her coach, Chris Catanach, was named Coach of the Year. Florida Southern's Brindl Langley was named Freshman of the Year.

Senior setter Jaclyn Mailoto was the only member of the Lions' squad selected to the All-SSC First team. At this time, she ranks seventh in the nation in Division II with 11.92 assists per set, which ranks first in the Sunshine State Conference. Throughout the 2013 regular season she has tallied 1323 assists, while notching 111 kills and 225 digs.

Along with Mailoto, OH Berkley Whaley (Tampa), OH Lindsay Biggs (Eckerd), L Catherine Brusie (Florida Southern), MB Meagan Burke (Tampa), MB Camille Indest (Rollins), and OH Holly Reschke (Tampa) all captured First Team SSC honors.

Junior outside hitter Lauren Campbell and senior middle blocker Jordan Sisson earned All-SSC Second Team honors. During the 2013 year, Campbell ranked fourth in the conference with 368 kills, while Sisson's .340 hitting percentage ranked fourth among all other conference individuals. Capturing All-SSC Second team honors alongside Campbell and Sisson were OH Sydney Cook (Nova Southeastern), RS Marissa Lisenbee (Tampa), S Kendall Marotti (Florida Southern), OH Ali McAlvany (Eckerd), and L Collyn Welsch (Rollins).

Junior right-side hitter Alexa Griffith-Hardy and libero Yaidimar Santiago were the final two Lions to earn SSC accolades, with their selections to the All-Newcomer Team. Griffith-Hardy's third-ranked .347 hitting percentage in the SSC and Santiago's fourth-ranked 4.71 digs per set made them prime candidates for the selections. In addition, OH Ruth Harrington (Rollins) and RS Tjasa Kotnik (Eckerd) both were selected to the All-Newcomer Team.

Eckerd's MB Katarina Milojevic was named honorable mention.

 For more on the Saint Leo volleyball program, visit For the complete All-Sunshine State Conference teams list, see below.

2013 All-Sunshine State Conference Volleyball Team

Lindsay Biggs, Eckerd (Sr., OH)
Catherine Brusie, Florida Southern (Jr., L)
Meagan Burke, Tampa (Jr., MB)
Camille Indest, Rollins (Sr., MB)
Jaclyn Mailoto, Saint Leo (Sr., S)
Holly Reschke, Tampa (Sr., OH)
Berkley Whaley, Tampa (So., OH)

Player of the Year: Berkley Whaley, Tampa

Freshman of the Year: Brindl Langley, Florida Southern

Newcomer of the Year: Berkley Whaley, Tampa

Coach of the Year: Chris Catanach, Tampa

Lauren Campbell, Saint Leo (Jr., OH)
Sydney Cook, Nova Southeastern (So., OH)
Marissa Lisenbee, Tampa (So., RS)
Kendall Marotti, Florida Southern (So., S)
Ali McAlvany, Eckerd (Jr., OH)
Jordan Sisson, Saint Leo (Sr., MB)
Collyn Welsch, Rollins (Jr., L)

Katarina Milojevic, Eckerd (Jr., MB)

Alexa Griffith-Hardy, Saint Leo (Jr., RS)
Ruth Harrington, Rollins (Fr., OH)
Tjasa Kotnik, Eckerd (So., RS)
Brindl Langley, Florida Southern (Fr., OH)
Yaidimar Santiago, Saint Leo (Jr., L)
Berkley Whaley, Tampa (So., OH)