Daszkiewicz and Benkirane Earn All-Conference Honors for Seventh-Ranked Lions

Daszkiewicz and Benkirane Earn All-Conference Honors for Seventh-Ranked Lions

WINTER PARK, Fla. – After a successful season and a second place finish in the Sunshine State Conference, the seventh-ranked Saint Leo University women's tennis team saw two student-athletes earn all-conference honors when the 2013 All-SSC Team was announced by Sunshine State Conference Commissioner Jay Jones on Friday morning. An amazing season on the courts saw junior Adrianna Daszkiewicz and sophomore Maria Benkirane take home All-SSC Second-Team honors.

Daszkiewicz, finishing the season 14-3 overall, went 6-2 in conference play as she was a combined 11-0 at Nos. 3 through 5 singles. The Rumia, Poland native also teamed with Coralie Pesenti to post a 14-4 record in doubles play as well.  Playing the majority of her season at No. 3 singles where she went 5-0, the junior dominated opponents both in, and out of the SSC.

In her second year in the Green and Gold, Benkirane earned all-conference honors behind a dominating performance, going 18-3 overall while she also went 7-1 in the conference. Excelling in her sophomore season, the Casablanca, Morocco native played the majority of her 2013 season at No. 4 singles where she totaled an overall record of 9-2 while at the No. 3 spot she went 8-1. As with her fellow all SSC teammate Daszkiewicz, she was versatile at all flights, compiling a 1-0 record at No. 2 singles.

For the remainder of the SSC, Florida Tech's Kristina Huba took top honors as the Player of the Year. Lynn's Valentine Confalonieri was tabbed Freshman of the Year, while Barry's Avi Kigel was selected as Coach of the Year.

Joining Huba and Confalonieri as All-SSC First Team singles selections were: Sabine Goge (Florida Southern), Ioana Ivan (Lynn), Magda Riutort (Florida Southern), and Ashley Rosenberg (Rollins).

Earning first-team doubles honors were Lynn's duo of Confalonieri and Ivan, Florida Southern's Riutort and Goge, and Barry's Elisabeth Abanda and Emma Onila.

In addition to Daskiewicz and Benkirane, named All-SSC Second Team in singles were: Abanda, Onila, Linda Fritschken (Barry), and Lauren Hewett (Tampa).

Receiving second-team honors in doubles were Rollins' Elissa DeCampli and Ashley Rosenberg, Tech's Huba and Stephanie Dohner, Barry's Fritschken and Kimmy Twelker, and Tampa's Hewett and Meg Wladimirski.

Rollins' Carli Davis received honorable mention in singles.

Voting for the All-SSC Women's Tennis Team was conducted among the league's women's tennis coaches.


First Team
Valentine Confalonieri, Lynn (Fr)
Sabine Goge, Florida Southern (Jr)
Kristina Huba, Florida Tech (Jr)
Ioana Ivan, Lynn (Jr)
Magda Riutort, Florida Southern (So)
Ashley Rosenberg, Rollins (Jr)
Elisabeth Abanda/Emma Onila, Barry (Fr/Fr)
Valentine Confalonieri/Ioana Ivan, Lynn (Fr/Jr)
Magda Riutort/Sabine Goge, Florida Southern (So/Jr)

Player of the Year - Kristina Huba, Florida Tech
Freshman of the Year - Valentine Confalonieri, Lynn
Coach of the Year - Avi Kigel, Barry

Second Team
Elisabeth Abanda, Barry (Fr)
Maria Benkirane, Saint Leo (So)
Adrianna Daskiewicz, Saint Leo (Jr)
Linda Fritschken, Barry (So)
Lauren Hewett, Tampa (Jr)
Emma Onila, Barry (Fr)
Elissa DeCampli/Ashley Rosenberg, Rollins (Jr/Jr)
Stephanie Dohner/Kristina Huba, Florida Tech (Sr/Jr)
Linda Fritschken/Kimmy Twelker, Barry (So/Fr)
Lauren Hewett/Meg Wladimirski, Tampa (Jr/So)

Honorable Mention
Carli Davis, Rollins (Fr)