Kemkes Earns All-SSC Honorable Mention

Kemkes Earns All-SSC Honorable Mention

Lions' Freshman Earns Team's First All-SSC Nod Since 2008

SAINT LEO, Fla. – Women's Tennis freshman, Laura Kemkes, added to her phenomenal season as she was named to the 2011 All-Sunshine State Conference Honorable Mention team, it was announced Thursday by SSC Commissioner Jay Jones.

Kemkes a native of Berlin, Germany, has amassed incredible numbers during the course of her first season as a Lion.

She concluded first year in the Green & Gold with a 17-4 overall mark in singles action and was a combined 16-9 on the doubles side.

Playing the majority of the season out of the No.3 spot, Kemkes finished the year on a two match win streak and ended the 2011 campaign with the second-most singles victories on the team (19).  She also finished with a 5-3 mark in a competitive SSC.

On the doubles side, Kemkes spent the majority of the season teamed with Bethania Laan at the No.1 doubles spot, gathering a 14-7 overall mark.

The duo was 1-3 against top-10 opponents, challenging some of the nation's best to the very end. 

In addition, Kemkes encountered a team-best 12 match win streak, was a two-time SSC Player of the Week and a three-time Saint Leo Female Athlete of the Week.

Kemkes was joined by elite company as Barry's Olivia Matuszak and Lynn's Isabell Raich were also named honorable mention.

Voting for the all-conference team was conducted among the league's women's tennis coaches and sports information directors.

In addition, a total of 15 singles players and seven doubles teams were named to the 2011 All-Sunshine State Conference Women's Tennis Team. Barry's Barbi Pocza was named Player of the Year, while Buccaneer skipper Avi Kigel was selected Coach of the Year.  Florida Southern's Sabine Goge was tabbed Freshman of the Year.

Joining Pocza and Goge as All-SSC first-team singles selections were:  Magdalena Ekert (Lynn), Katarina Huba (Florida Tech), Eleonora Iannozzi (Lynn), and Margaret Junker (Rollins).

Earning first-team doubles recognition were:  Katarina Huba and Kristina Huba (Florida Tech), Iannozzi and Ioana Ivan (Lynn), and Pocza and Angie Werschel (Barry).

Selected to the all-conference second team in singles were:  Joalis Dominguez (Florida Southern), Ivan (Lynn), Roshni Luthra (Rollins), Agnese Rozite (Florida Southern), Caroline Wendling (Barry), and Jessica Yanoff (Lynn).

Garnering all-conference second-team doubles distinction were:  Laura Boguet and Alex Gwizdowski (Barry), Ekert and Isabell Raich (Lynn), and Goge and Rozite (Florida Southern).


Magdalena Ekert (Lynn, Sr)
Sabine Goge (Florida Southern, Fr)
Katarina Huba (Florida Tech, Jr)
Eleonora Iannozzi (Lynn, Sr)
Margaret Junker (Rollins, Sr)
Barbi Pocza (Barry, Sr)

Katarina Huba (Florida Tech, Jr) / Kristina Huba (Florida Tech, Fr)
Eleonora Iannozzi (Lynn, Sr) / Ioana Ivan (Lynn, Fr)
Barbi Pocza (Barry, Sr) / Angie Werschel (Barry, Sr)

Player of the Year – Barbi Pocza, Barry
Freshman of the Year – Sabine Goge, Florida Southern
Coach of the Year – Avi Kigel, Barry

Joalis Dominguez (Florida Southern, Fr)
Ioana Ivan (Lynn, Fr)
Roshni Luthra (Rollins, Sr)
Agnese Rozite (Florida Southern, So)
Caroline Wendling (Barry, Jr)
Jessica Yanoff (Lynn, Sr)

Laura Boguet (Barry, Sr) / Alex Gwizdowski (Barry, Fr)
Magdalena Ekert (Lynn, Sr) / Isabell Raich (Lynn, Sr)
Sabine Goge (Florida Southern, Fr) / Agnese Rozite (Florida Southern, So)

Laura Kemkes (Saint Leo, Fr)
Olivia Matuszak (Barry, Fr)
Isabell Raich (Lynn, Sr)

Andrea Berkova (Lynn, Fr) / Jessica Yanoff (Lynn, Sr)
Margaret Junker (Rollins, Sr) / Kayli Ragsdale (Rollins, Jr)