Kabangu, Jaimes and Gignac recognized by the D2CCA

Kabangu, Jaimes and Gignac recognized by the D2CCA

SAINT LEO, Fla. – Three Saint Leo seniors – Arielle Kabangu, Selena Jaimes, Genevieve Gignac - were named to the Division II Conference Commissioners Association (D2CCA) All-South Region teams following the 2016 season which featured two Sunshine State Conference titles for the women's soccer team.

Arielle Kabangu and Selena Jaimes were named to the First Team All-South Region by the D2CCA as Genevieve Gignac was selected to the second team. Kabangu and Jaimes will go on to the D2CCA All-America ballot.

Kabangu finished the season with 36 points with 16 goals and four assists to lead the Lions in points and scoring. Kabangu finished the season ranked ninth in the nation in goals per game (0.89), 12th in points per game (2.00) and 14th in total goals (16). 

Jaimes, a key piece to the Lions' defense, finished the year with six points with one goal and four assists. She led the back line that helped Saint Leo record three shutouts and holding opponents to 22 goals all year.

Gignac finished the season with a point total of 16, fourth best on the team this season, with seven goals, which was second best for the Lions, and two assists. Gignac was part of the high-caliber offense for the Lions who racked up 45 goals on the year, averaging 2.50 goals a game.

The trio helped Saint Leo to the NCAA Division II Women's Soccer Tournament Second Round and two Sunshine State Conference titles – Regular Season and Tournament. The Lions finished the year with a 13-4-1 record and a 7-1-1 mark in the SSC. Saint Leo won the SSC tournament with a 2-1 win over Nova Southeastern.

G - Katelyn Burkhart, West Florida
D - Emily Vogler, West Florida
D - Svenja Burkhardt, West Florida
D - Selena Jaimes, Saint Leo
D - Caitlin Hayes, Mississippi College
M - Marjorie Boilesen, West Florida
M - Kinsey Cichowitz, Lee
M - Sara Helgadottir, West Florida
M - Kirsten Reilly, West Alabama
F - Kaley Ward, West Florida
F - Arielle Kabangu, Saint Leo
F - Summer Lanter, Lee
F - TeMia Pride, West Alabama 

South Region Player of the Year: Marjorie Boilesen, West Florida

G - Haley Gribler, Lee
G - Ida Norstrom, Nova Southeastern
D - Katie Turner, Barry
D - Emma Santamaki, Nova Southeastern
D - McKenzie Bricker, Lee
D - Ciera Misner, Florida Tech
M - Amanda Traynor, Barry
M - Lauren Kate Carter, Mississippi College
M - Katie Mitchell, West Georgia
M - Genevieve Gignac, Saint Leo
F - Hannah Christophe, Nova Southeastern
F - Lauren Peters, Lee
F - Eleanor Costello, North Alabama
F - Susana Abundiz, West Georgia
F - Nichole Poppe, Nova Southeastern