Former Lion Shines in CBC Championships

Former Lion Shines in CBC Championships

SAINT LEO, Fla. – Despite hanging the shoes up for the Lions in 2009, former Saint Leo women's basketball player Melissa Guerero continues to excel on the basketball court. This time, however, Guerero led her native country of Trinidad & Tobago to a second place finish at the 2011 Caribbean Basketball Confederation Championships, from the Nassau, Bahamas. 

Guerero, a three-year member of the Lions, performed tremendously on the court for Trinidad & Tobago, leading them to a 4-1 record. 

Individually, however, Guerero was fifth in scoring for the tournament averaging 15.2 points-per-game, including a tournament-best 33 points against the Dominican Republic. 

Guerero was also a force on the boards, averaging 7.2 rebounds-per-game. 

The guard wrapped-up her tournament experience by earning All-CBC First Team accolades. 

"All-in-all, it was a great tournament and a tremendous experience," said Guerero on her playing time with the National Team. "If given the opportunity again I would gladly play." 

Over the course of the tournament Trinidad & Tobago earned victories over the Bahamas, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, the Virgin Islands, and the Dominican Republic.  

The CBC Championship or Caribebasket is a FIBA-sponsored basketball tournament where national teams from the Caribbean participate. These countries make up Caribbean Basketball Confederation (CBC). The top three or four teams typically earn berths to Centrobasket where they compete for spots in the FIBA Americas Championship, from which they can qualify for the FIBA World Championship or Olympics.There are currently 24 Caribbean countries that may compete in this event.

Celebration of the tournament typically is every two years. Puerto Rico is traditionally the strongest team from this region, but they rarely compete as the squad usually has already earned a berth in the subsequent Centrobasket. Until 2002, this tournament was called the CARICOM Basketball Championship. Through 2011, the tournament had been held twenty-one times for the men and twenty times for the women.