SAINT LEO, Fla. – Although the 2009-10 Saint Leo women’s basketball season has come to an end, the squad recently received news that senior forward Dominique Daniels was named to the All-Sunshine State Conference Second Team, it was announced Thursday by SSC Commissioner Jay Jones.

This occurance marks the first all-conference selection for the Columbus, Ohio native, as she concluded the season as the Lions’ leading scorer at 12.9 PPG. Daniels also posted a team-best 8.7 rebounds-per-contest on top of 11 doubles-doubles. She scored in double-figures in all but six games and shot 44.5 percent (129-290) from the field. At 77 percent (104-135), the 6’0” forward was the team’s best free throw shooter, in addition to 29 steals and 12 blocks. She also finished 10th in the conference in scoring and third in rebounding average.

She had a career night against Edward Waters on December 30th, as she scored a career-best 23 points and hauled in 15 boards.

In total, eighteen student-athletes were named to the 2009-10 All-Sunshine State Conference Women's Basketball Team.

Barry's Mariesa Greene was selected Player of the Year and Tampa's Caitlyn Mitryk was chosen Defensive Player of the Year. Tampa's Tom Jessee was tabbed Coach of the Year, and Lynn's Kira Harvey was named Freshman of the Year.


Tiara Cook, Tampa, Senior
Mariesa Greene, Barry, Senior
Chelsea Johnson, Florida Southern, Junior
Gianna Messina, Tampa, Junior
Lynisha Nelson, Florida Tech, Junior

Player of the Year – Mariesa Greene, Barry
Defensive Player of the Year – Caitlyn Mitryk, Tampa
Coach of the Year – Tom Jessee, Tampa
Freshman of the Year – Kira Harvey, Lynn

Brittainy Daiger, Rollins, Senior
Dominique Daniels, Saint Leo, Senior
Michaela Hawley, Florida Southern, Sophomore
Ashley Lutz, Eckerd, Junior
Chelsea Patterson, Lynn, Junior

Megan Dzikas, Florida Southern, Sophomore
Caitlyn Mitryk, Tampa, Senior

Tilde Ahlin, Barry
Rheisa Burke, Nova Southeastern
Kira Harvey, Lynn
Tera McDaniel, Rollins
Amanda Schultz, Lynn
Kamari Smith, Tampa

Voting for the all-conference women's basketball team was conducted among the league's head coaches and sports information directors.

Click here to view the full release.