Trio of Saint Leo softball earn D2CCA All-South Region

Trio of Saint Leo softball earn D2CCA All-South Region

HUNTSVILLE, Ala. – Saint Leo softball players Stephanie AdkinsKacie Kelly, and Rachael Heath were named to the Division II Conference Commissioners Association (D2CCA) All-South Region teams, announced Monday, May 15. Adkins and Kelly were First Team selections while Heath was a Second Team honoree. 

Senior hurler Stephanie Adkins is now a two-time D2CCA First Team All-South Region honoree as well as a two-time NFCA first teamer. Adkins concluded her career guiding the Lions to the NCAA South Regional tournament with a record of 21-7. Adkins led the Sunshine State Conference in ERA (1.62), strikeouts (175) and wins (21) on her way to earning her second straight SSC Pitcher of the Year accolade. This season, Adkins tossed 182 innings of work, finished with 18 complete games and six shutouts. Adkins will look to make her second straight appearance on the All-America teams as she was a 2016 NFCA Third Team All-American and a Second Team D2CCA All-American last season.   

Freshman second baseman Kacie Kelly has added her D2CCA honors to her NFCA First Team All-South Region honors after helping Saint Leo post a 37-15 record on the year. For most of the season, the freshman from Jacksonville, Fla., led the team and the SSC in multiple batting categories. At the end of the regular season, Kelly was named SSC Freshman of the Year and Player of the Year. Kelly led the SSC in batting average (.440), on-base percentage (.498), runs (42), hits (80), and at-bats (182), while she was ranked inside the top 10 in slugging percentage (.533), runs batted in (35), doubles (15), and fewest strikeouts (7).

Senior outfielder Rachael Heath earns D2CCA honors for the first time in her career as she adds that to her NFCA First Team honors from a year ago as postseason awards. Heath is a three-time All-SSC player, with two first team All-SSC honors in the outfield and one second team honor at third base. Heath is ranked in the top 10 in six categories where she led the SSC in stolen bases (38) and sacrifice bunts (20). On the season, Heath went 38-for-40 on the base paths and scored 31 runs while driving in 21. 

Adkins, Heath and Kelly helped Saint Leo capture their second consecutive SSC title, third in five years, after posting a 17-7 record in conference play. Adkins and Kelly will go on to the D2CCA All-America ballot.

Those that earned First Team status will now advance to the All-America ballot.

The Division II Conference Commissioners Association encourages and promotes Division II athletics and high standards of sportsmanship as important elements of higher education. The CCA is a key communications link among the conferences as they discuss views, policies and regulations that impact Division II intercollegiate athletics and works closely with the NCAA as a communications channel to NCAA Division II member colleges and universities.

For more information on the Saint Leo softball program, visit  Fans can also stay up-to-date on the latest Lions news by following Saint Leo Athletics on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and YouTube.

First Team
C – Carly Crawford, Mississippi College
1B – Hayley Cruthers, Valdosta State
2B – Kacie Kelly, Saint Leo
SS – Rhiannon Sassman, West Florida
3B – Kaitlyn Bannister, UAH
OF – Magnolia West, Palm Beach Atlantic
OF – Katherine Lee, Mississippi College
OF – Taylor Hartenbach, Valdosta State
UTL – Jacey Castro, West Florida
UTL/P – Tyler Harrison, UAH
DP – Shelby Woodard, North Alabama
P – Stephanie Adkins, Saint Leo
P – Becca Taylor, West Florida
P – Taylor Moran, Lee
Player of the Year – Kaitlyn Bannister, UAH
Pitcher of the Year – Tyler Harrison, UAH
Second Team
C – Caitlin Steel, West Florida
1B – Jasmine Harris, Barry
2B – Sierra Stella, West Georgia
SS – Jessica Mohl, Valdosta State
3B – Chelsea Canara, Valdosta State
OF – Rachael Heath, Saint Leo
OF – LaKaylin Lee, Claflin
OF – Dana Edmundson, Nova Southeastern
UTL – Chelsea Hall, Claflin
UTL/P – Makaleigh Dooley, Tampa
DP – Abby McKinney, Lee
P – Francais Olexa, Lynn
P – Sarah Maloney, West Florida
P – Tiaria Norman, Claflin