Five Lions Selected to All-SSC Softball Teams

Five Lions Selected to All-SSC Softball Teams

George, Burns, Heath, Steiner, and Sanders all receive top SSC honors 

WINTER PARK, Fla. – The 2014 All-Sunshine State Conference Softball Team was released on Tuesday. Five Lions were honored in the conference-wide recognition, including Michelle George, McKenzie Burns, Rachael Heath, Sarah Steiner, and Adriana Sanders.

Tampa's Kayla Cox repeats as Pitcher of the Year, joining the Spartans' Leslie Kanter was selected Coach of the Year. Nova Southeastern's Erika Garcia earned top honors as the Player of the Year, while Rollins' Hailee Keisling was named Freshman of the Year.

Earning All-SSC First Team honors with Cox (P) and Garcia (UT) were: 1B Meagan Burke (Tampa), 2B Michelle George (Saint Leo), 2B Danielle McNeill (Lynn), 3B Hilary Brown (Rollins), SS Kayleen Boatwright (Tampa), C Devin Kochergan (Lynn), OF Megan Copeland (Barry), OF Courtney Durbin (Rollins), OF Kristie Hoeffer, OF Kayla Ogle (Barry), DP Lindsay Dring (Tampa), P Julia Morrow (Tampa), and At-Large selections McKenzie Burns (Saint Leo) and Allasyn Lieneck (Florida Southern).

George, who joined the Saint Leo squad this season as a freshman, competed in 38 of the Lions 50 games, settling in as the everyday second baseman. She finished the year with a batting average of .340, stealing eight bases and fielding for a nearly perfect .962 average.

Burns, who received All-SSC First team honors as a sophomore, broke the Lions' all-time career stolen bases record during the 2014 season – her junior campaign. She finished the year with a .313 batting average and tallied 33 stolen bases for a team high.

Named to the All-SSC Second Team were: 1B Julie Brito (Barry), 2B Brittany Johnson (Rollins), 3B Rachael Heath (Saint Leo), SS Kara Oberer (Eckerd), C Veronica Alred (Rollins), OF Elaine Brown (Florida Tech), OF Kelsey Donahue (Florida Tech), OF Chelsea Jeffares (Eckerd), OF Melanie Spicola (Nova Southeastern), DP Sarah Steiner (Saint Leo), UT Christie Bailey (Florida Southern), P Niki Fogle (Rollins), P Stephanie Sullivan (Rollins), and At-Large selections Rachel Pence (Florida Tech) and Adriana Sanders (Saint Leo).

Heath, who also joined the green and gold as a freshman this year, appeared in 41 contests, tallying a .287 average from the left side of the batter's box. Her speed on the bases earned 17 stolen bases. As a designated player and pitcher, senior Sarah Steiner competed in all but one of the Lions' 50 games, slugging for .396 and leading her team with 35 RBI. Junior Adrianna Sanders, the Lions' second team at-large selection, started and played in 48 games, leading her team in multiple offensive categories. Earning a .383 average, 57 hits, and 38 runs, the junior also led the Sunshine State Conference with five triples.

The Saint Leo softball team finished the year with a 29-21 overall record; good enough for a fourth-place finish in the highly competitive Sunshine State Conference.

For more on the Saint Leo softball program, visit Also, be sure to 'Like' the Saint Leo Lions on Facebook and 'Follow' Saint Leo Athletics on Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube.

* Voting for the All-SSC Team was conducted among the league's softball coaches.

2014 All-SSC Softball Team

1B – Meagan Burke, Tampa (Jr.)
2B – Michelle George, Saint Leo (Fr.)
2B – Danielle McNeill, Lynn (Sr.)
3B – Hilary Brown, Rollins (Sr.)
SS – Kayleen Boatwright, Tampa (Jr.)
C – Devin Kochergan, Lynn (Sr.)
OF – Megan Copeland, Barry (So.)
OF – Courtney Durbin, Rollins (So.)
OF – Kristie Hoeffer, Rollins (Sr.)
OF – Kayla Ogle, Barry (Jr.)
DP – Lindsay Dring, Tampa (Jr.)
UT – Erika Garcia, Nova Southeastern (Sr.)
P – Kayla Cox, Tampa (Sr.)
P – Julia Morrow, Tampa (Jr.)
At-Large – McKenzie Burns, Saint Leo (Jr.)
At-Large – Allasyn Lieneck, Florida Southern (Sr.) 

Player of the Year – Erika Garcia, Nova Southeastern

Pitcher of the Year – Kayla Cox, Tampa

Freshman of the Year – Hailee Keisling, Rollins

Coach of the Year – Leslie Kanter, Tampa

1B – Julie Brito, Barry (Jr.)
2B – Brittany Johnson, Rollins (So.)
3B – Rachel Heath, Saint Leo (Fr.)
SS – Kara Oberer, Eckerd (So.)
C – Veronica Alred, Rollins (Sr.)
OF – Elaine Brown, Florida Tech (So.)
OF – Kelsey Donahue, Florida Tech (Sr.)
OF – Chelsea Jeffares, Eckerd (Sr.)
OF – Melanie Spicola, Nova Southeastern (Jr.)
DP – Sarah Steiner, Saint Leo (Sr.)
UT – Christie Bailey, Florida Southern (Sr.)
P – Niki Fogle, Rollins (So.)
P – Stephanie Sullivan, Rollins (Sr.)
At-Large – Rachel Pence, Florida Tech (Fr.)
At – Large – Adriana Sanders, Saint Leo (Jr.)