Lions to Play Tampa in First Round of NCAA South Region Tourney

Lions to Play Tampa in First Round of NCAA South Region Tourney

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. — The NCAA Division II Softball Committee has selected the 64 teams that will participate in the 2013 NCAA Division II Softball Championship, it was announced Monday morning from the NCAA's National Headquarters.

Four teams will participate at each of 16 regional sites in double-elimination tournaments. Regional competition will be held May 10-12. Winners will advance to the super regionals May 17-18.

The South Region tournament boasts eight teams total from four intercollegiate conferences throughout the south. The conferences represented consist of the Sunshine State Conference, Gulf South Conference, Peach Belt Conference, and the Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference. 

Three teams from the Sunshine State Conference were selected for the South Region tournament, including the University of Tampa Spartans (No. 4), Saint Leo University Lions (No. 5), and Barry University Buccaneers (No. 6). 

The Lions will take on SSC rival Tampa on Friday, May 10, at 4:30 p.m. at the host site of Valdosta State University. During the regular season, the Spartans took two of three games from the Lions during the SSC weekend series on Mar. 8-9. 

Valdosta State, where the Lions will compete this weekend, is the No. 1 seed in the South Region as well as the reigning 2012 National Champion. 

The finals will be held May 23-27 at James I. Moyer Sports Complex in Salem, Va., and will be hosted by the West Virginia Intercollegiate Athletic Conference and the City of Salem.

To keep up with the Lions softball program on their journey to the National Tournament, stay up to date with Also, be sure to 'Like' the Lions on Facebook and 'Follow' the Lions on Twitter.