Saint Leo Sees Adjenak, Nicholson-Lewis and Sisti Earn All-SSC Accolades

Saint Leo Sees Adjenak, Nicholson-Lewis and Sisti Earn All-SSC Accolades

WINTER PARK, Fla. - As the 15th-ranked Saint Leo University men's tennis team begins their push through the NCAA tournament, the Lions received welcome news when they learned that three student-athletes had earned all-conference recognition when the All-SSC men's tennis teams were announced by the Sunshine State Conference Commissioner Jay Jones on Friday morning.   Rewarded for his stellar season in the Green and Gold, junior Aloua Adjenak earned All-Conference First Team honors at singles while junior Matt Nicholson-Lewis earned second-team singles honors.  Nicholson-Lewis and freshman Bruno Sisti teamed up for All-Conference Second Team doubles accolades.

Adjenak earned first team honors courtesy of a 12-6 overall record while going 4-2 in SSC play entirely at No. 1 singles. Facing the conference's top competitors, the native of Paris, France's most notable wins came against the then seventh-ranked Marco Mokrzycki, the SSC's Player of the Year.  Playing the entirety of his season at the top singles spot, he dominated his position, gaining three victories against nationally-ranked opponents.

Nicholson-Lewis earned second-team individual accolades playing the majority of his season at the No. 3 singles spot, compiling a record of 7-2 at that spot and an overall record of 16-3 this season.  In conference play he only suffered one blemish, going 5-1 in the SSC.  Playing between the Nos. 1 through 4 spots, the native of Cambridge, England was 1-0 at No. 1 and 3-0 at No. 2.  He was also 5-1 playing at the No. 4 spot.

On the doubles side, Nicholson-Lewis joined freshman Bruno Sisti earning All-SSC Second Team honors in doubles play.  The most consistent pair of doubles performers amongst the crew of Lions, the duo went 15-5 during the year playing all three doubles spots.  In their main flight at No. 2 doubles, the tandem went 8-4 while going 6-1 at No. 1.  They managed a perfect 1-0 record at No. 3 doubles in their match against third-ranked Lynn back on February 17.

As mentioned earlier, Barry's Mokrzycki was named the SSC Player of the Year, while his coach, George Samuel, was selected Coach of the Year. Rollins' Robin Marchione was chosen Freshman of the Year.

Joining Adjenak and Mokrzycki on the All-SSC First Team were: Vlad Cirla (Lynn), Nicolas Clerc (Florida Tech), Fabian Groetsch (Barry), Benoit Paradis (Florida Southern), and Max Wimmer (Barry).

Named to the first team in doubles were Tech's Clerc and Patrick Hernandez, Barry's Mokrzycki and Groetsch, and Lynn's Cirla and Willi Wolfer.

Recognized on the All-SSC Second Team in addition to Nicholson-Lewis and Marchione were: Malte Christesen (Rollins), Romain Costamagna (Barry), Simon Gloeckner (Lynn) and Pavel Mojha (Lynn).

Joining Nicholson-Lewis and Sisti as Second-team doubles honorees were Rollins' Will Kwok and Jason Alabaster and Barry's Wimmer and Ollie Lemaitre.

Barry's Leo Vivas received honorable mention in singles.

Voting for the All-SSC Men's Tennis Team was conducted among the league's men's tennis coaches.


First Team
Aloua Adjenak, Saint Leo (Jr)
Vlad Cirla, Lynn (Jr)
Nicolas Clerc, Florida Tech (Jr)
Fabian Groetsch, Barry (So)
Marco Mokrzycki, Barry (Sr)
Benoit Paradis, Florida Southern (Jr)
Max Wimmer, Barry (Sr)
Nicolas Clerc/Patrick Hernandez, Florida Tech (Jr/Fr)
Marco Mokrzycki/Fabian Groetsch, Barry (Sr/So)
Willi Wolfer/Vlad Cirla, Lynn (Sr/Jr)

Player of the Year - Marco Mokrzycki, Barry
Freshman of the Year - Robin Marchione, Rollins
Coach of the Year - George Samuel, Barry

Second Team
Malte Christesen, Rollins (So)
Romain Costamagna, Barry (Jr)
Simon Gloeckner, Lynn (Fr)
Robin Marchione, Rollins (Fr)
Pavel Mojha, Lynn (Fr)
Matt Nicholson-Lewis, Saint Leo (Jr)
Will Kwok/Jason Alabaster, Rollins (Fr/Jr)
Matt Nicholson-Lewis/Bruno Sisti, Saint Leo (Jr/Fr)
Max Wimmer/Ollie Lemaitre, Barry (Sr/Jr)

Honorable Mention
Leo Vivas, Barry (Jr)