Adjenak Selected First Team All-SSC Singles; Nicholson-Lewis, Lozier First Team Doubles

Adjenak Selected First Team All-SSC Singles; Nicholson-Lewis, Lozier First Team Doubles

SAINT LEO, Fla. – Fresh off their second consecutive NCAA Tournament bid,  the Saint Leo men's tennis team saw five players named to the 2012 All-Sunshine State Conference team, it was announced Friday by league officials. Lions' sophomore Aloua Adjenak was selected All-SSC First Team on the singles side, while the doubles tandem of Matt Nicholson-Lewis and Victor Lozier earning an All-SSC First Team doubles selection.

Jacobo Gonzalez-Tarrio, Matt Nicholson-Lewis, and Victor Lozier earned second team honors, while Jake Fleischer and Adjenak registered on the doubles second team list.

A total of 19 student-athletes were selected to the 2012 All-Sunshine State Conference Men's Tennis Team. Rollins' Lucas Jovita was named Player of the Year. Barry's Fabian Groetsch was recognized as Freshman of the Year, and Buccaneer skipper George Samuel was selected Coach of the Year.

Individually, Adjenak developed a successful singles campaign en route to his first team nod. Seeing time throughout the lineup, Adjenak made the majority of his presence felt at top flight singles where he assembled an 11-1 record. Overall, the sophomore collected a mark of 17-6.

The duo of Matt Nicholson-Lewis and Victor Lozier were overwhelming as the Lions' top doubles pair. Sitting at No.8 in the country as a duo, the team earned a 16-6 mark, all at top-flight.

Three more Lions also earned all-conference selections as Gonzalez-Tarrio (18-2), finished the year 5-1 in the SSC primarily at No.4 singles. Meanwhile, Victor Lozier equaled his 2011 performance with 17 wins as he split time at No.2 and No.3 singles. Matt Nicholson-Lewis amassed a 15-6 mark while competing at No.1 and No.2 singles.

Adjenak saw his name on the list for a second time as he teamed with Jake Fleischer to earn second team doubles honors. The tandem racked-up a 14-8 record playing primarily out of three-flight.

The Lions will return to court on Sunday, April 29, when they take on the Rollins College Tars in NCAA South Region action. Both teams have posted one win against each other the season. First serve is set for 1 p.m. from Pensacola, Fla.

For more on the nationally-ranked men's tennis team, visit 


Aloua Adjenak (Saint Leo, So)
Nicolas Clerc (Florida Tech, So)
Lucas Jovita (Rollins, Sr)
Marco Mokrzycki (Barry, Jr)
Jeff Morris (Rollins, Sr)
Willi Wolfer (Lynn, Jr)

Vlad Cirla (Lynn, So)/Willi Wolfer (Lynn, Jr)
Lucas Jovita (Rollins, Sr)/Jason Alabaster (Rollins, So)
Matt Nicholson-Lewis (Saint Leo, So)/Victor Lozier (Saint Leo, So)

Player of the Year - Lucas Jovita, Rollins
Freshman of the Year - Fabian Groetsch, Barry
Coach of the Year - George Samuel, Barry

Vlad Cirla (Lynn, So)
Jacobo Gonzalez-Tarrio (Saint Leo, Fr)
Fabian Groetsch (Barry, Fr)
Victor Lozier (Saint Leo, So)
Matt Nicholson-Lewis (Saint Leo, So)
Luca Pavanelli (Lynn, Sr)

Aloua Adjenak (Saint Leo, So)/Jake Fleischer (Saint Leo, So)
Nicolas Clerc (Florida Tech, So)/Jorge Abarca Montero (Florida Tech, Sr)
Marco Mokrzycki (Barry, Jr)/Leo Vivas (Barry, So)
Benoit Paradis (Florida Southern, So)/Emanuel Lueber (Florida Southern, Fr)

Malte Christesen (Rollins, Fr)