Olson Nabs All-SSC First Team Honors

Olson Nabs All-SSC First Team Honors

SAINT LEO, Fla. – Saint Leo men's swimmer Tim Olson put the finishing touches on an outstanding swimming career at Saint Leo, earning Sunshine State Conference First Team Honors, league officials announced Wednesday.

Florida Southern swept all three major awards announced Wednesday as part of the 2012 All-Sunshine State Conference Men's Swimming Team.  Jeb Halfacre was named Swimmer of the Year for the second consecutive season.  Luis Rojas was tabbed Freshman of the Year.  Duncan Sherrard was selected Coach of the Year.

Named to the All-SSC First Team with Halfacre and Rojas were:  Oskar Nordstrand (Nova Southeastern), Armin Hornikel (Nova Southeastern), Tim Olson (Saint Leo), Jonas Grundstrom (Nova Southeastern), Oscar Aldabe (Nova Southeastern), and David Humphrey (Tampa).

Voting for the Swimmer of the Year, Freshman of the Year, and Coach of the Year was conducted among coaches and sports information directors at SSC member institutions that sponsor the sport of swimming.  The All-SSC Men's Swimming Team was determined by points accumulated at the SSC Swimming Championship, which was conducted Feb. 15-18 at the Long Center in Clearwater, Fla.  The top eight swimmers, based on points, were named All-SSC First Team, while the next eight were named All-SSC Second Team.


Oskar Nordstrand, Nova Southeastern, Junior
Armin Hornikel, Nova Southeastern, Senior
Tim Olson, Saint Leo, Senior
Luis Rojas, Florida Southern, Freshman
Jonas Grundstrom, Nova Southeastern, Senior
Jeb Halfacre, Florida Southern, Junior
Oscar Aldabe, Nova Southeastern, Sophomore
David Humphrey, Tampa, Junior

Swimmer of the Year – Jeb Halfacre, Florida Southern
Freshman of the Year – Luis Rojas, Florida Southern
Coach of the Year – Duncan Sherrard, Florida Southern

Miguel Ferreira, Florida Southern, Junior
Norbert Kovacs, Tampa, Junior
Stephen Swan, Florida Southern, Junior
Addison Cates, Nova Southeastern, Freshman
Berk Kahramen, Tampa, Senior
Bruce Janzen, Florida Southern, Junior
Allan Gutierrez, Florida Southern, Freshman
Cameron Chambers, Nova Southeastern, Junior