Cozzi and Walker Earn All-Conference Honors

Cozzi and Walker Earn All-Conference Honors

Saint Leo Gets Two on Inaugural All-SSC Swim Team

ORLANDO, Fla. – The Saint Leo men's and women's swim teams each had a lone representative named to the All-SSC Swim Team it was announced by Sunshine State Conference Commissioner Jay Jones on Thursday afternoon. Maggie Walker, fresh off her NCAA Championships appearance, earned first team honors on the women's team, while Michael Cozzi earned All-Conference Second Team honors on the men's side.

Walker, who was the only Lion to represent Saint Leo in the NCAA Swim Championships, dominated the 50 and 100 yard freestyles and contributed in the 100 yard butterfly and 100 yard backstroke as she set new team marks in each event. Making the biggest strides in the SSC Championships in February, she made her biggest mark in winning the championship in the 100 freestyle, a win that ultimately propelled her to the national competition. She was also named the Sunshine State Conference's Swimmer of the Week on November 1st.

Overall, Florida Southern's Mary O'Sullivan was named Women's Swimmer of the Year. Tampa's Heather Glenday was selected Freshman of the Year, while UT's Ed Brennan was tabbed Coach of the Year.

In addition to Walker, O'Sullivan and Glenday, those earning All-SSC first team accolades were Ewa Jamborska (Nova Southeastern), Rae-Lynn Sheffield (Florida Southern), Jenny Nilson (Rollins), Caroline Belli (Tampa), Lisa Menne (Florida Southern), Ashley Aranda (Nova Southeastern), and Catherine Patrell (Tampa).

Receiving All-SSC second team honors were: Lindsay Calimer (Tampa), Kelsey Lubbers (Tampa), Taylor Reynolds (Florida Southern), Ashley Bransford (Nova Southeastern), Cara Potter (Florida Southern), Lisa Bero (Tampa), Kaitlyn Smith (Florida Southern), Alexandra Hipolito (Tampa), and Kelsey Duncan (Florida Southern).

On the men's side, Cozzi was one of a number of solid performers for the Lions as he claimed the SSC title in the 1,000 yard freestyle in the championship's first day. He set new marks for the Lions in swimming the 200, 500, 1000 1650 yard freestyle events and also in the 100 yard breaststroke. Cozzi earned his stripes as one of the Lions most enduring swimmer of the season as he was also a member of four relay teams that set new school records in 2010-11.

The men were headlined by Florida Southern's Jeb Halfacre, who was named Men's Swimmer of the Year. Tampa's Brad Hines was selected Freshman of the Year, and Nova Southeastern's Hollie Bonewit-Cron was chosen Coach of the Year.

Receiving All-SSC first team designation were Halfacre, Jorge Ospina (Nova Southeastern), Miguel Ferreira (Florida Southern), Chris O'Linger (Tampa), Armin Hornikel (Nova Southeastern), David Humphrey (Tampa), Ash Dougan (Nova Southeastern), and Jonas Grundstrom (Nova Southeastern).

Aside from Cozzi, Jeffrey Fiore (Tampa), Bruce Janzen (Florida Southern), Chris Norris (Nova Southeastern), John Michael Hayes (Nova Southeastern), Michael Weinstein (Rollins), Roberto Duran (Nova Southeastern), and Jack Rund (Florida Southern) were named to the All-SSC second team.

Voting for the swimmer, freshman, and coach of the year was conducted among the coaches and sports information directors of the member institutions which sponsor the sport of swimming. The All-Sunshine State Conference team was determined by total points accumulated at the inaugural SSC Swimming Championship, which was held Feb. 17-20 in Orlando. The top eight swimmers were named All-SSC first team, while those who finished ninth through 16th were designated All-SSC second team.

First Team
Mary O'Sullivan, Florida Southern, Senior
Heather Glenday, Tampa, Freshman
Ewa Jamborska, Nova Southeastern, Junior
Rae-Lynn Sheffield, Florida Southern, Junior
Jenny Nilson, Rollins, Sophomore
Caroline Belli, Tampa, Freshman
Maggie Walker, Saint Leo, Sophomore
Lisa Menne, Florida Southern, Freshman
Ashley Aranda, Nova Southeastern, Junior
Catherine Patrell, Tampa, Freshman

Swimmer of the Year – Mary O'Sullivan, Florida Southern
Freshman of the Year – Heather Glenday, Tampa
Coach of the Year – Ed Brennan, Tampa

Second Team
Lindsay Calimer, Tampa, Junior
Kelsey Lubbers, Tampa, Senior
Taylor Reynolds, Florida Southern, Junior
Ashley Bransford, Nova Southeastern, Freshman
Cara Potter, Florida Southern, Senior
Lisa Bero, Tampa, Freshman
Kaitlyn Smith, Florida Southern, Junior
Alexandra Hipolito, Tampa, Freshman
Kelsey Duncan, Florida Southern, Senior

First Team
Jorge Ospina, Nova Southeastern, Senior
Miguel Ferreira, Florida Southern, Sophomore
Jeb Halfacre, Florida Southern, Sophomore
Chris O'Linger, Tampa, Senior
Armin Hornikel, Nova Southeastern, Junior
David Humphrey, Tampa, Sophomore
Ash Dougan, Nova Southeastern, Junior
Jonas Grundstrom, Nova Southeastern, Sophomore

Swimmer of the Year – Jeb Halfacre, Florida Southern
Freshman of the Year – Brad Hines, Tampa
Coach of the Year – Hollie Bonewit-Cron, Nova Southeastern

Second Team
Jeffrey Fiore, Tampa, Junior
Bruce Janzen, Florida Southern, Sophomore
Chris Norris, Nova Southeastern, Freshman
Michael Cozzi, Saint Leo, Sophomore
John Michael Hayes, Nova Southeastern, Freshman
Michael Weinstein, Rollins, Sophomore
Roberto Duran, Nova Southeastern, Freshman
Jack Rund, Florida Southern, Freshman