Fulk Named Coach of the Year; Six Lions Earn All-SSC Honors

Fulk Named Coach of the Year; Six Lions Earn All-SSC Honors

WINTER PARK, Fla. - A total of 24 student-athletes have been named to the 2013 All-Sunshine State Conference Men's Soccer Team. For the second-straight season Tampa's Tyler Blackwood was selected both Player of the Year and Offensive Player of the Year. Rollins' Walker Hume was named Defensive Player of the Year, while his teammate Tosan Popo was chosen Freshman of the Year. Saint Leo's head coach Keith Fulk was tabbed Coach of the Year.

In his third season as head coach at Saint Leo, Fulk captured the Lions' first SSC regular-season title since 2005 after his squad upended then-undefeated and No. 1 Rollins in the regular-season finale in double overtime. It is Fulk's third Coach of the Year award, but his first while leading Saint Leo. The Lions have worked their way up to No. 7 in the latest NSCAA top-25 and No. 2 in the NCAA South Region.

It was Fulk's leadership efforts that helped develop the lineup that rose to the top of the SSC.  A number of those same Saint Leo players graced this year's All-Conference teams with senior veteran Edgar Herrera earning a spot on the First Team.  He was joined by teammates junior Chris Lavie, sophomore Manuel Schoenhuber and freshman Maximilian Schulze-Geisthovel on the SSC's top team.

Saint Leo Second Team honors went to Melvin Agyei Boateng as he completed a list of five Lions' student-athletes that made the team. Counting their head coach, the Lions had a half-dozen honorees on this year's All-Conference Team.

Also named to the All-SSC First Team with were forward Tucker Hume (Rollins); midfielder Alex Bisbee (Rollins); defender Nicola Brivio (Nova Southeastern) and goalkeeper Keneil Baker (Rollins).

Receiving a spot on the all-conference second team with Boateng were forwards Grant Blackhurst (Rollins), Chris Hellman (Lynn) and Rafa Faria (Rollins); midfielders Luke Jenner (Florida Southern) and Michael O'Neil (Lynn); defenders Javier Lopez Mochon (Lynn), Jason Sangha (Lynn) and Jack Winter (Lynn); goalkeeper Johnny Rodrigues (Barry); and at-large selections Andrew Clare (Tampa) and Stefano Fanfoni (Nova Southeastern).

Barry forward Thomas Coombes received honorable mention.

Voting for the All-SSC Men's Soccer Team was conducted among the league's men's soccer coaches.

2013 All-SSC Men's Soccer Team


F - Tyler Blackwood, Tampa (Jr.)
F - Tucker Hume, Rollins (So.)
F - Maximilian Schulz-Geisthovel, Saint Leo (Fr.)
M - Alex Bisbee, Rollins (Sr.)
M - Edgar Herrera, Saint Leo (Sr.)
M - Tosan Popo, Rollins (Fr.)
D - Nicola Brivio, Nova Southeastern (So.)
D - Walker Hume, Rollins (So.)
D - Chris Lavie, Saint Leo (Sr.)
GK - Keneil Baker, Rollins (Sr.)
At-Large - Manuel Schoenhuber, Saint Leo (So.) 

Player of the Year - Tyler Blackwood, Tampa
Offensive Player of the Year - Tyler Blackwood, Tampa
Defensive Player of the Year - Walker Hume, Rollins
Freshman of the Year - Tosan Popo, Rollins
Coach of the Year - Keith Fulk, Saint Leo 


F - Grant Blackhurst, Rollins (So.)
F - Chris Hellman, Lynn (Fr.)
F - Rafa Faria, Rollins (Sr.)
M - Melvin Agyei Boateng, Saint Leo (Jr.)
M - Luke Jenner, Florida Southern (Sr.)
M - Michael O'Neil, Lynn (Gr.)
D - Javier Lopez Mochon, Lynn (Jr.)
D - Jason Sangha, Lynn (Jr.)
D - Jack Winter, Lynn (Jr.)
GK - Johnny Rodrigues, Barry (Sr.)
At-Large - Andrew Clare, Tampa (Jr.)
At-Large - Stefano Fanfoni, Nova Southeastern (So.) 


F - Thomas Coombes, Barry (So.)