Nine Lions Earn Inaugural All-SSC Postseason Honors

Nine Lions Earn Inaugural All-SSC Postseason Honors

Saint Leo's Obermeyer, Cothron and Moore earn first team All-SSC kudos

WINTER PARK, Fla. – Nine members of the Saint Leo University men's lacrosse team have been named to the inaugural postseason All-Sunshine State Conference team. Matt Obermeyer (midfield), Will Cothron (specialist) and Dave Moore (goalie) were all named to the First Team, while Sean Connolly (long-stick midfield) and Dylan D'Airo (defense) were named to the Second Team. Doug Moore (defense) was an honorable mention selection.

Named to the All-Freshmen team was Mike Kavanagh (long-stick midfield) and Ryan McCarthy (midfield).

Tampa's Conor Whipple was selected Player of the Year and Jake Rooney was named Co-Newcomer of the Year. Florida Southern's Grant VanOverbeke was also named Co-Newcomer of the Year. The Spartans' Rory Whipple was named Coach of the Year.

Named to the All-SSC First Team with Whipple (attack) and Rooney (attack) were: attack Dane Sorensen (Florida Southern); midfield CJ Nichols (Florida Tech), Obermeyer and Jack Vonarb (Rollins); long-stick midfield David Beaumont (Florida Southern); Cothron and Alex Petsos (Rollins); defense Trenell Boggans (Florida Southern), Marty Heyn (Tampa) and DJ Lubs (Florida Southern); and at goalie is Moore.

Receiving a spot on the all-conference second team with VanOverbeke (attack) were: attack Cody Dyer (Florida Southern) and Yonts; midfield Matt Bilak (Tampa), Chris Murphy (Florida Southern) and Nick Wynne (Florida Tech); long-stick midfield Connolly; specialist Trevor Calleja (Tampa) and Dan Krispinsky (Florida Southern); defense Mike Cherry (Florida Tech), D'Airo and Larry Gress (Tampa); goalie Andrew Failla (Tampa).

Joining Moore as an honorable mention is specialist Travis Wunder.

A total of 13 players were named to the All-Freshman Team, including Cherry (Florida Tech), Dyer (Florida Southern), Chris D'Angelo (Lynn), Kavanagh, Brian Kiel (Lynn), McCarthy, Connor McClellan (Rollins), Charlie Morrisette (Florida Tech), Nichols (Florida Tech), Nicholas Schultz (Rollins), VanOverbeke (Florida Southern), Vonarb (Rollins) and Whipple (Tampa).

Voting for the All-SSC Men's Lacrosse Team was conducted among the league's men's lacrosse coaches.

2014 Inaugural All-SSC Men's Lacrosse Team

A – Jake Rooney, Tampa (So.)
A – Dane Sorensen, Florida Southern (Jr.)
A – Conor Whipple, Tampa (Fr.)
M – CJ Nichols, Florida Tech (Fr.)
M – Matt Obermeyer, Saint Leo (Sr.)
M – Jack Vonarb, Rollins (Fr.)
LSM – David Beaumont, Florida Southern (Sr.)
S – Will Cothron, Saint Leo (So.)
S – Alex Petsos, Rollins (So.)
D – Trenell Boggans, Florida Southern (Jr.)
D – Marty Heyn, Tampa (So.)
D – DJ Lubs, Florida Southern (Sr.)
G – Dave Moore, Saint Leo (So.)

Player of the Year – Conor Whipple, Tampa
Co-Newcomer of the Year – Jake Rooney, Tampa
Co-Newcomer of the Year – Grant VanOverbeke, Florida Southern
Coach of the Year – Rory Whipple, Tampa

A – Cody Dyer, Florida Southern (Fr.)
A – Grant VanOverbeke, Florida Southern (Fr.)
A – Dylan Yonts, Saint Leo (So.)
M – Matt Bilak, Tampa (So.)
M – Chris Murphy, Florida Southern (Sr.)
M – Nick Wynne, Florida Tech (So.)
LSM – Sean Connolly, Saint Leo (Jr.)
S – Trevor Calleja, Tampa (Jr.)
S – Dan Krispinsky, Florida Southern (Sr.)
D – Mike Cherry, Florida Tech (Fr.)
D – Dylan D'Airo, Saint Leo (Jr.)
D – Larry Gress, Tampa (Sr.)
G – Andrew Failla, Tampa (So.)

D – Doug Moore, Saint Leo (Sr.)
S – Travis Wunder, Florida Tech (Fr.)

Mike Cherry, Florida Tech (D)
Cody Dyer, Florida Southern (A)
Chris D'Angelo, Lynn (S)
Mike Kavanagh, Saint Leo (LSM)
Brian Kiel, Lynn (A)
Ryan McCarthy, Saint Leo (M)
Connor McClellan, Rollins (D)
Charlie Morrisette, Florida Tech (A)
CJ Nichols, Florida Tech (M)
Nicholas Schultz, Rollins (A)
Grant VanOverbeke, Florida Southern (A)
Jack Vonarb, Rollins (M)
Conor Whipple, Tampa (A)