Caiazza and Proechel Earn Slots on All-DSC Tourney Team

Caiazza and Proechel Earn Slots on All-DSC Tourney Team

SAINT LEO, Fla. – Chris Caiazza and George Proechel have earned spots on the All-Deep South Conference Tournament Team, league officials announced Tuesday.  The All-Tourney team was selected by league coaches on Monday.

Caiazza gets the nod after scoring five goals, and racking up five ground balls and two caused turnovers throughout the tournament.  The Lindenhurst, N.Y. native posted four ground balls and a caused turnover in the first round against Florid a Southern, and went on to stymie the Spartans scoring five of the Lions' goals, in the tournament semifinals.

Proechel finds a spot on the team with a four goal, three assist, and two ground ball performance over two games.  The Orlando, Fla. native led the team against Florida Southern in the opening game with a hat trick and two assists, and went on to tally a goal and an assist against the Spartans.

In total, 11 players were named to the DSC All-Tournament Team, with 2013 Tournament Champion Catawba College earning four spots, including the Tournament MVP.  Tampa was given a nod for three slots, while Saint Leo and Lenoir-Rhyne each placed two players on the team.

2013 Deep South Conference All-Tournament Team
Player                                                School

1.            Tom Cullop                           Catawba (MVP)                                               

2.            Christian Klimczyk                Catawba                                                             

3.            John Scheich                        Catawba                                                             

4.            Steven Ridolfo                      Catawba                                                             

5.            Greg Griffo                            Tampa                                                 

6.            Kyle Hemrick                         Tampa                                                 

7.            Ryan Becker                          Tampa                                                 

8.            Chris Caiazza                       Saint Leo                                                             

9.            George Proechel                  Saint Leo                                                             

10.          Sam Ashton                           Lenoir-Rhyne                                    

11.          Imari Davis                            Lenoir-Rhyne