Gendron named semifinalist for DII National Player of the Year

Gendron named semifinalist for DII National Player of the Year

NORMAN, Okla. – Saint Leo senior Ryan Gendron was named a semifinalist for the Division II Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award presented by Barbasol, announced Friday by the Golf Collegiate Coaches Association.

Ryan Gendron is currently ranked 61st among Division II players by GolfStat with a 73.08 stroke average. Gendron has finished in the top 10 in four tournaments with a top five finish on the 2017 season. His low round of the season was a 67 (-5) at the Matlock Collegiate Classic during the final round. While at the Sunshine State Conference Championships, Gendron tied for 14th with a 217 (+1) with rounds of 77-70-70.

Gendron was one of 10 Sunshine State Conference golfers to be named a semifinalist for the DII Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award. 

Division II finalists for the award will be named May 18 while Nicklaus Award recipients will be announced June 1 with the honor presented by Jack Nicklaus at a ceremony during the final round of the Memorial Tournament presented by Nationwide at Muirfield Village Golf Club.

In addition to receiving the Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award, the five recipients will compete in the Barbasol Shootout for an exemption into the PGA TOUR's Barbasol Championship, held July 20-23, at the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail at Grand National in Opelika, Ala. The Barbasol Shootout will be held Saturday, June 3 at the storied Scioto Country Club in Columbus, Ohio - the same club where Jack Nicklaus first learned the game of golf as a young boy.

Saint Leo men's golf will await the selection show on Friday, April 28 to see their fate for the NCAA Regional. If selected to participate, the Lions will travel to Muscle Shoals, Ala. on May 8-10 to play in the South/Southeast Regional at the RTJ- The Fighting Joe Golf Club.

For the latest news, updates, and information on the Saint Leo men's golf team visit  Fans can also stay up-to-date on the latest Lions news by following Saint Leo Athletics on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and YouTube.

Division II Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award presented by Barbasol Semifinalists
Joaquin Arguelles, Dallas Baptist
Jared Baker, Midwestern State
Mario Beltran, Barry*
Chandler Blanchet, West Florida
Sam Broadhurst, Lincoln Memorial
John Coultas, Florida Southern*
Chris Crisologo, Simon Fraser
Tom Forster, Carson-Newman
Ryan Gendron, Saint Leo*
Mateo Gomez, Lynn*
Greg Gonzalez, California Baptist
Juan Jose Guerra, Nova Southeastern*
Nicolas Herrera, BYU-Hawaii
Jacob Huizinga, West Florida
Forrest Knight, North Alabama
Felix Kvarnstrom, Lynn*
Adam Lumley, Mars Hill
Richard Mansell, Nova Southeastern*
Michal Pospisil, Lander
Colin Prater, Colorado-Colorado Springs
Spencer Skiff, Newberry
Alex Springer, Central Missouri
Nick Stafford, Belmont Abbey
Adam Stone, CSU East Bay
Elis Svard, CSU Monterey Bay
Shea Sylvester, Lee
Manuel Torres, Lynn*
John VanDerLaan, Florida Southern*
Niclas Weiland, Barry*
Henry Westmoreland IV, West Florida