Brothers Named One of the Conference's Top Golfers

Brothers Named One of the Conference's Top Golfers

WINTER PARK, Fla. – Saint Leo golfer Nick Brothers has been named to the All-Conference Second Team it was announced by Sunshine State Commissioner Jay Jones on Tuesday morning.  Brothers earns the Lions' only all-conference selection as he prepares to tackle the NCAA Tournament field as an individual, joining 80 teams and 31 other individuals that have been selected to participate in the regional competition of the Division II Men's Golf Championships.

Leading the Lions this season, Brothers earned the award after posting nearly an even-par scoring average (72.7) across 25 rounds played.  During this season he managed a share of the top spot at the Indian Bayou Classic in the fall and posted a low-round of 68 at the Warner Invitational earlier this spring.  Totaling his accomplishments, the Crystal River, Fla. native registered five top-5 finishes and six top-10 results in nine events held this year.

The Saint Leo junior was one of 12 student-athletes that were named to the 2012 All-Sunshine State Conference Men's Golf Team. Nova Southeastern swept the major awards as Ben Taylor was selected Golfer of the Yea, Oscar Lengden was tabbed Freshman of the Year and Garrett Runion garnered Coach of the Year honors.

Named to the All-SSC First Team with Taylor were: Ricardo Celia (Nova Southeastern), Marcelo Rozo (Lynn), Daniel Stapff (Barry), and Daniel Young (Lynn).

Earning All-SSC Second-Team accolades with Brothers and Lengden were: Spencer Cole (Rollins), Case Gard (Florida Southern), and Marcus Segerstrom (Barry).

Barry's Scott Smyers and Florida Tech's Christian Westhorpe were given honorable mention.

Voting for the All-SSC Men's Golf Team was conducted among the league's men's golf coaches and sports information directors.




Ricardo Celia, Nova Southeastern, Sophomore

Marcelo Rozo, Lynn, Senior

Daniel Stapff, Barry, Senior

Ben Taylor, Nova Southeastern, Sophomore

Daniel Young, Lynn, Junior


Golfer of the Year - Ben Taylor, Nova Southeastern

Freshman of the Year - Oscar Lengden, Nova Southeastern

Coach of the Year - Garrett Runion, Nova Southeastern


Nick Brothers, Saint Leo, Junior

Spencer Cole, Rollins, Senior

Case Gard, Florida Southern, Junior

Oscar Lengden, Nova Southeastern, Freshman

Marcus Segerstrom, Barry, Junior


Scott Smyers, Barry, Sophomore

Christian Westhorpe, Florida Tech, Senior