Brothers Selected to Participate in NCAA Regional Tournament

Brothers Selected to Participate in NCAA Regional Tournament

SAINT LEO, Fla. – After his outstanding play during the 2011-12 season, Saint Leo junior Nick Brothers has been selected to compete in the NCAA South/Southeast Regional to be held at Rock Barn Golf & Spa in Conover, North Carolina and will hosted by the Lenoir-Rhyne University from May 7-9, 2012.

Leading the Lions this season, Brothers was selected as an individual after posting nearly an even-par scoring average (72.7) across 25 rounds played.  During this season he managed a share of the top spot at the Indian Bayou Classic in the fall and posted a low-round of 68 at the Warner Invitational earlier this spring.  Totaling his accomplishments, the Crystal River, Fla. native registered five top-5 finishes and six top-10 results in nine events held this year.

The lone Saint Leo representative joins 80 teams and 32 individuals that have been selected to participate in the regional competition of the Division II Men's Golf Championships. 

The top five teams and the top two student-athletes not with a team from each regional (regardless of region) will advance to the finals May 15-19, at The Cardinal Club in Simpsonville, Kentucky as part of the 2012 Division II Spring Championships Festival. The Festival will be hosted by Bellarmine University and the Louisville Sports Commission.

South Region:

1. Nova Southeastern [Sunshine State Conference]

2. Barry

3. Lynn

4. North Alabama [Gulf South Conference]

5. West Florida

6. Florida Southern

7. Rollins

8. Florida Tech

9. Eckerd

10. Valdosta State



1. Nick Brothers, Saint Leo

2. Bryn Powers, West Georgia

3. Grant Goforth, Delta State

4. Luke Brown, Delta State


Southeast Region:

1. UNC Pembroke [Peach Belt Conference]

2. South Carolina Aiken

3. Georgia College

4. Wingate [South Atlantic Conference]

5. Georgia Southwestern State

6. Armstrong

7. Carson-Newman

8. Barton

9. Columbus State

10. Coker [Conference Carolinas]



1. Adam Hedges, Belmont Abbey

2. Eric Kennedy, Lincoln Memorial

3. Matthew Campbell, Newberry

4. Greg Mergel, Flagler