Jerrel Harris Earns All-SSC First Team Selection

WINTER PARK, Fla. – Saint Leo University men's basketball standout Jerrel Harris has been recognized by the Sunshine State Conference's men's basketball coaches for his play during the 2013-14 season. The announcement was made on Friday morning from the conference office in Winter Park, Fla.

Florida Southern junior Kevin Capers was named the Player of the Year, and Florida Tech's Corbin Jackson was named Defensive Player of the Year. Barry's Yunio Barrueta was tabbed Newcomer of the Year, while fellow Buccaneer Adrian Gonzalez was named Freshman of the Year. Florida Southern's Linc Darner was named Coach of the Year.

A senior guard from Milwaukee, Wis., Harris is averaging 18.9 points per game in 30 outings, which ranks third in the Sunshine State Conference. The 5-10 floor leader is also second in the league in three-point field goals made per game (2.3), eighth in three-point field goal percentage hitting 39.7 percent (69-for-174) of his shots from behind the arc and eighth in free throw percentage hitting 78.2 percent (169-for-216) of his shots from the charity stripe.

Harris is coming off an 18-point performance in Saint Leo's 63-53 win over Lynn on Thursday in the SSC basketball tournament quarterfinals. During that game, Harris scored his 1,000th career-point at Saint Leo in just two years of action.

Earlier this season, Harris poured in a career-high 41 points in an 84-81 win over Barry on Jan. 11.

Next up for the Lions will be Tampa on Saturday at 5 p.m. in the Sunshine State Conference tournament semifinals.

For more on the Saint Leo University men's basketball team visit Also be sure 'Like' the Lions on Facebook and 'Follow' the Lions on Twitter and Instagram.


Yunio Barrueta, Barry (So.)
Kevin Capers, Florida Southern (Jr.)
Jerrel Harris, Saint Leo (Sr.)
Jermaine Jackson, Florida Tech (Jr.)
Mitch Woods, Rollins (Sr.) 

Player of the Year – Kevin Capers, Florida Southern

Defensive Player of the Year – Corbin Jackson, Florida Tech

Newcomer of the Year – Yunio Barrueta, Barry

Freshman of the Year – Adrian Gonzalez, Barry

Coach of the Year – Linc Darner, Florida Southern

Jordan Davis, Tampa (Jr.)
Da'Markco Foster, Tampa (Sr.)
Aaron Harrison, Lynn (Jr.)
Deric Hill, Barry (Jr.)
Chris Page, Nova Southeastern (So.) 

Yunio Barrueta, Barry (So.)
Jordan Davis, Tampa (Jr.)
Aaron Harrison, Lynn (Jr.)
Corbin Jackson, Florida Tech (So.)
Chris Page, Nova Southeastern (So.)