Ruh Announced as 2012-13 Division II Commissioner's Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Ruh Announced as 2012-13 Division II Commissioner's Scholar-Athlete of the Year

PRARIE VILLAGE, Kan. – The Division II Conference Commissioner's Association has named Kari Daugherty of Ashland University (Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletics Conference) and Marcus Ruh of Saint Leo University (Sunshine State Conference) the female and male Division II Scholar-Athletes of the Year.

Earlier this month, 16 regional scholar-athlete award winners were selected by the DII CCA. Daugherty and Ruh were named from this field of eight women's regional winners and eight men's regional winners.

In the 14-year history of this award, Daugherty gives the GLIAC its fourth national award winner, while Ruh is the SSC's first winner.

"These fine student-athletes embody the essence of what it means to be a Division II student-athlete. They have led a balanced student-athlete lifestyle while enjoying tremendous accomplishments on and off the court," said Steve Murray, commissioner of the Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference and president of the DII CCA. "As a commissioner, I am so proud of these student-athletes, and we are honored to be able to recognize them as DII CCA Scholar-Athletes."

Daugherty, a two-time GLIAC Women's Basketball Athlete of the Year, led Ashland for two-straight years to the NCAA Division II title game, and in 2013 the Eagles won the national championship. Daugherty, the 2012-13 Capital One Academic All-America of the Year, set the NCAA D-II record for consecutive double‐doubles with 34. She is a two-time WBCA NCAA D-II Athlete of the Year and a two‐time first team All-American. She was the first D-II student-athlete to win the Division II Honda Sports Award in consecutive years. The Fresno, Ohio native graduated with a degree in middle childhood education with a 3.97 grade point average.

Having earned a flawless 4.0 grade point average in business administration at Saint Leo, Ruh was named the 2012-13 Capital One Men's Basketball Academic All-America of the Year. The Green Bay, Wis. native helped Saint Leo earn the program's first Sunshine State Conference regular season title with a program-best 22-8 overall record and 12-4 mark in conference play.

Inducted into the National College-Athlete Honor Society, Ruh was the 2012-13 SSC Men's Basketball Athlete of the Year, as well as an honoree on the NABC First-Team All-District and Daktronics First-Team All-South Region teams.

This award, sponsored by the Division II Conference Commissioners Association, provides the opportunity for Division II to highlight the extraordinary achievements of its student-athletes.  The commissioners from the regions that comprise the Division II basketball alignment selected the national winners.