Four Lions Earn All-SSC Selections; Dylan Harris Tabbed FOY

Four Lions Earn All-SSC Selections; Dylan Harris Tabbed FOY

Harris and Whitten named to First Team, while T. Perez and Stancil Earn Second Team Nod

WINTER PARK, Fla. – The 2014 All-Sunshine State Conference Baseball Team was released Monday. Four Lions were selected as part of the 34-man team, including Dylan Harris (Freshman of the Year), Fran Whitten (First Team), Taylor Perez (Second Team) and Cole Stancil (Second Team).

In addition to Harris' Freshman of the Year Selection, Lynn's Sal Giardina, Jr. was selected Player of the Year and Tampa's Preston Packrall received Pitcher of the Year honors. The University of Tampa's Joe Urso was named Coach of the Year.

Joining Sal Giardina (C), Dylan Harris (3B) and Preston Packrall (SP) on the All-SSC First Team were: 1B Fran Whitten (Saint Leo), 2B Orlando Rivera (Tampa), SS Giovanny Alfonzo (Tampa), SS Alvin Swoope (Nova Southeastern), OF Dominic Brugnoni (Florida Southern), OF Keith Curcio (Florida Southern), OF Michael Danner (Tampa), OF Sheehan Planas-Arteaga (Barry), DH Mario Urdaneta (Nova Southeastern), UT Stephan Dezzi (Tampa), SP Jimmy Gutowski (Eckerd), SP David Heintz (Tampa), SP Jed Vandernaald (Lynn) and RP Bill Mendek (Lynn).

Harris, who led all Sunshine State Conference freshmen in hitting on the year with a .366 average, also led the SSC in hits and at-bats, tying for third overall in runs scored. He ended his freshman campaign with a team-leading 45 runs scored, 71 hits, and 13 stolen bases.

Whitten, who joined the green and gold during his senior year, ended his final playing season leading the conference with 11 homeruns and 110 total bases. In addition, he finished the year leading his team in numerous categories, including doubles, homeruns, RBI, slugging, and on-base percentage. As a first baseman, he also led the Lions in putouts, with 324.

Selected to the All-SSC Second Team were: 1B Sean O'Brien (Tampa), 2B Lucas Luopa (Eckerd), 3B Thomas Kain (Lynn), SS Taylor Perez (Saint Leo), C Nick Tindall (Tampa), OF Christian Coburn (Rollins), OF Zach Gawyrch (Tampa), OF Connor Obrochta (Tampa), OF Cole Stancil (Saint Leo), DH Chris Hanson (Eckerd), UT Alex Debellis (Lynn), SP Clay Chapman (Florida Southern), SP Brian Johnson (Florida Southern), SP Trey Oest (Tampa), SP Scotty Ward (Florida Tech), RP Nate Carter (Florida Southern) and RP Kevin McNorton (Tampa).

Taylor Perez, who shined in his freshman season with the Lions was a large part of the Saint Leo offense and defense during his sophomore season as well. Finishing third in the Sunshine State Conference with 141 assists, Perez ended his sophomore year with a .316 batting average, amassing 61 hits, 42 runs scored, and 12 doubles. He ended the regular season with a team-leading five sacrifice flyouts.

Stancil also played a large role in the Lions' efforts as a sophomore this season, posting a .319 batting average in 45 games played. His perfect 1.000 fielding average tied for first in the Sunshine State Conference, as he tallied 51 hits and 38 RBI from the plate. Slugging for .495, Stancil finished second on the team in homeruns (four) and triples (three).

The Saint Leo baseball squad finished the 2014 season with a 33-16 overall record, placing tied for third in the highly competitive Sunshine State Conference.

For more on the Saint Leo baseball program, visit Also, be sure to 'Like' the Lions on Facebook and 'Follow' Saint Leo Athletics on Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube.  

* Voting for the All-SSC Baseball Team was conducted among the league's head baseball coaches.

2014 All-SSC Baseball Team

1B - Fran Whitten, Saint Leo (Sr.)
2B - Orlando Rivera, Tampa (Jr.)
3B - Dylan Harris, Saint Leo (Fr.)
SS - Giovanny Alfonzo, Tampa (Jr.)
SS - Alvin Swoope, Nova Southeastern (Fr.)
C - Sal Giardina, Jr., Lynn (Sr.)
OF - Dominic Brugnoni, Florida Southern (RSo.)
OF - Keith Curcio, Florida Southern (Jr.)
OF - Michael Danner, Tampa (Sr.)
OF - Sheehan Planas-Arteaga, Barry (Jr.)
DH - Mario Urdaneta, Nova Southeastern (Jr.)
UT - Stephen Dezzi, Tampa (Sr.)
SP - Jimmy Gutowski, Eckerd (Jr.)
SP - David Heintz, Tampa (So.)
SP - Preston Packrall, Tampa (Sr.)
SP - Jed Vandernaald, Lynn (Sr.)
RP - Bill Mendek, Lynn (Jr.) 

Player of the Year - Sal Giardina Jr., Lynn

Pitcher of the Year - Preston Packrall, Tampa

Freshman of the Year - Dylan Harris, Saint Leo

Coach of the Year - Joe Urso, Tampa 

1B - Sean O'Brien, Tampa (Sr.)
2B - Lucas Luopa, Eckerd (Fr.)
3B - Thomas Kain, Lynn (Jr.)
SS - Taylor Perez, Saint Leo (So.)
C - Nick Tindall, Tampa (Jr.)
OF - Christian Coburn, Rollins (Jr.)
OF - Zach Gawrych, Tampa (Sr.)
OF - Connor Obrochta, Tampa (Sr.)
OF - Cole Stancil, Saint Leo (So.)
DH - Chris Hanson, Eckerd (Sr.)
UT - Alex Debellis, Lynn (Jr.)
SP - Clay Chapman, Florida Southern (Sr.)
SP - Brian Johnson, Florida Southern (Sr.)
SP - Trey Oest, Tampa (So.)
SP - Scotty Ward, Florida Tech (Jr.)
RP - Nate Carter, Florida Southern (Sr.)
RP - Kevin McNorton, Tampa (Sr.)