LAKE WORTH, Fla. – The Saint Leo baseball team could not pull out a midweek victory as they fell to Palm Beach Atlantic 14-2 in non-conference action on Wednesday evening in south Florida.

Saint Leo (10-22) jumped ahead of the Sailfish in the top of the first inning as Ryan Brnovich took advantage of a leadoff walk from PBA starter Jeremiah Cothiere, and then eventually came around to score on a Blake Turner RBI single.

In response, Palm Beach Atlantic (19-13) managed to gain the lead in the bottom of the second inning as they tallied four runs, all with two outs. After consecutive strikeouts began the inning, junior Matt Civetti drew the first of his three walks on the night then saw freshman teammate Jordan Carter lace a single up the middle.

Following a run-scoring single from Brooks Fleming’s came a double from Taylor Kaprive who drove home Carter then another run-scoring single from Jorge Chavarria. Mejia closed out the scoring in the inning with a single to right-field that plated Kaprive to go up 4-1.

After an unearned run came home in the bottom of the third inning for PBA, the Fish would end the night of Lions’ starter Rick Teasley (2-3) in the bottom of the fourth as he allowed consecutive hits to Fleming and Kaprive that signaled the end of the night for the lefty.

A two-run single from Chavarria would greet reliever Adam Albers to move ahead 7-1 as the hosts were in firm control through the middle innings.

Already leading 7-2 entering the bottom of the eighth inning, the Sailfish put the contest away for good with a seven-run frame as the team batted around against a pair of Saint Leo pitchers.

Kaprive finished his night with a 3-for-4 showing at the plate including three doubles while scoring three runs and driving in two more.

Saint Leo was led by first-baseman Anthony Santa who had a 2-for-4 night as the Lions finished with seven total hits.

Saint Leo will return home for the first time in over two weeks when they host Clearwater Christian on Friday night.  First pitch is set for 6:00 p.m. at Thomas B. Southard Stadium.