SAINT LEO, Fla. – Two Saint Leo University baseball players were named to the All-Sunshine State Conference Baseball Team, it was announced Thursday, May 14th, by SSC Commissioner Michael J. Marcil.  Right fielder Dustin Brown was named the conference’s Freshman of the Year and earned Honorable Mention honors while centerfielder Kyle Hobbs was named to the All-SSC Second Team.

A native of Dade City, Brown led Saint Leo with a .357 batting average in his collegiate debut season. He was also among the team's leaders with 42 RBI and 48 runs scored.  Brown's 18 doubles tied for third in the SSC, while his three triples tied for fifth. He also clubbed seven home runs en route to a .578 slugging percentage. Converting 13-of-17 stolen base attempts, Brown tied for 12th in the conference in stolen bases.

The other half of the Dade City connection, Hobbs batted .339 with a .538 slugging percentage as he played, and started in all but one game for the Lions.  He led the team in home runs with 15 as he batted in the leadoff position.  Also, while batting in the number one spot in the lineup, Hobbs blasted six of his round-trippers in the first at-bat of the game for SLU.  Hobbs also hit a home run in five straight games in 2009, just two short of tying an NCAA record. In the conference, Hobbs ranked second in triples with five, third in total homers and he was seventh in total hits with 143.

Brown is the Lions’ first Freshman of the Year honoree since left-handed pitcher Peter Martinez claimed the award in 2004.  This also marks the third SLU freshman honored with the award in the 2008-09 year, with volleyball’s Danielle Bletso and softball’s Amber Martyn also earning recognition as top SSC freshman.

Joining Brown as the individual winners were Barry's Yan Gomes, who was selected Player of the Year and Barry coach Mark Pavao, who was named Coach of the Year.  Lynn's Dan Wright was also tabbed Pitcher of the Year.

Voting for the all-conference team was conducted among the league's baseball coaches and sports information directors.

1B - Riaan Spanjer-Furstenburg (Nova Southeastern, Jr.)
2B - Wade Kirkland (Florida Southern, So.)
3B - Yan Gomes (Barry, Jr.)
SS - Nick Shaw (Barry, Jr.)
OF - Bryan Bennett (Rollins, Sr.)
OF - Will Cherry (Florida Southern, Sr.)
OF - Yas Gutierrez (Barry, Jr.)
C - Kevin Villa (Florida Tech, Sr.)
SP - Max Russell (Florida Southern, So.)
SP - Charley Short (Barry, Jr.)
SP - Dan Wright (Lynn, Jr.)
RP - Alex Koronis (Tampa, Jr.)
DH - Douglas Toro (Lynn, Sr.)
UT - Jared Simon (Tampa, So.)

Player of the Year - Yan Gomes, Barry
Pitcher of the Year - Dan Wright, Lynn
Coach of the Year - Marc Pavao, Barry
Freshman of the Year - Dustin Brown, Saint Leo

1B - Yudelmis Hernandez (Barry, Sr.)
2B - Correy Figueroa (Tampa, Jr.)
3B - Mike Sinicola (Eckerd, Sr.)
SS - Casey Albanese (Tampa, Sr.)
SS - Robbie Shields (Florida Southern, Jr.)
OF - Trae Gore (Florida Southern, Jr.)
OF - Kyle Hobbs (Saint Leo, Sr.)
OF - J.D. Martinez (Nova Southeastern, Jr.)
C - Zach Maggard (Florida Southern, So.)
SP - Michael Fiers (Nova Southeastern, Sr.)
SP - Brad McAllister (Barry, Freshman)
SP - Miles Mikolas (Nova Southeastern, Jr.)
RP - Daniel Tillman (Florida Southern, So.)
DH - Mike Schwartz (Tampa, Jr.)
UT - Danny Lima (Barry, Sr.)

OF - Dustin Brown (Saint Leo, Fr.)
SP - Tim Griffin (Rollins, Jr.)
RP - Scott Sexton (Barry, Jr.)