Saint Leo, Fla. (May 22, 2008) – Three Saint Leo University baseball players have been named to the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association All-South Region Second Team for 2008.  Jonathan Duncan (Jr., Starke, Fla.), T.J. Alonzo (Jr., Tampa, Fla.) and Braulio Pardo (Jr., Land O’Lakes, Fla.) followed their All-SSC accolades with the latest post-season awards.

Catawba’s David Thomas was recognized as NCBWA South Region Player of the Year, while Carson-Newman’s Brett Hontz was the region’s Pitcher of the Year.  Joe Urso, head coach of South Region Champion Tampa was named the NCBWA South Region Coach of the Year.

Duncan, Alonzo and Pardo were all named First Team All-Sunshine State Conference earlier this month after helping Saint Leo post a 30-22 record in 2008.  Each of the trio had offensive numbers that ranked at the top for the Lions and also among the leaders in the SSC and the nation.

In order to qualify for NCBWA All-South Region consideration, student-athletes had to earn First or Second Team spots on their respective All-Conference teams.  In order to qualify for the special awards, individuals must have won the same award from their respective conference.

NCBWA All-South Region First Team *
SP Ruddy Garcia, Nova Southeastern
SP Bobby Hernandez, Barry
SP Brett Hontz, Carson-Newman
SP Mario Lombardo, Rollins
SP Boo Morrow, Tusculum
RP Anthony Perez, Tampa
C Christian Rosa, Tusculum
1B Bryan Cook, Nova Southeastern
2B Maikol Gonzalez, Tusculum
3B Gene Howard, Rollins
SS Chuncey Ward, Albany State
OF J.D. Martinez, Nova Southeastern
OF Jerry Sands, Catawba
OF David Thomas, Catawba
UT/DH Nathan Coggins, Albany State
* additional positions due to ties in voting
NCBWA All-South Region Second Team
SP Josh Bowman, Tampa
SP Blake Ketner, Catawba
SP Samuel Murphy, Albany State
SP Matt Schurig, Florida Tech
RP Tim Holmes, Catawba
C Braulio Pardo, Saint Leo
1B Joe Arminio, Lynn
2B Jonathan Duncan, Saint Leo
3B Dan Ford, Lenoir-Rhyne
SS Nick Shaw, Barry
OF Nick Achberger, Carson-Newman
OF T.J. Alonzo, Saint Leo
OF Gabe MacDougall, Lynn
UT/DH Cory Clark, Nova Southeastern
NCBWA South Region Pitcher of the Year
Brett Hontz, Carson-Newman
NCBWA South Region Player of the Year
David Thomas, Catawba
NCBWA South Region Coach of the Year
Joe Urso, Tampa